The Stonemason Museums in Vånevik and Näset

Address: Vånevik Show map

Address: Vånevik

In Vånevik, stonemasonry started already in 1870. Here you can find a quarry as it looked when the business was blooming back in the days.

Stonemasonry has been carried out in Vånevik for just over 80 years. The operation began in 1870 when German companies ‘opened the hills’ in the coastal areas and it continued well into the 1950s. One of the old quarries, Ångkransbrottet, has been set up to look like a workplace from the period when stonemasonry flourished. There is a stonemason’s shed, a stone polisher’s workshop and a forge. One of the stonemason’s biggest work sites was located at Näset, approx. 3 km north of Vånevik. A new exhibition on the Näset operation was opened in the spring of 2012.

Opening hours: The museums at Vånevik and Näset are open all year round. The workshops at Vånevik are open 8 Jun-25 Aug Saturdays 9am-12pm and Sundays 1pm-4pm. Museum apartment in the workers’ barracks open Sundays 8 Jun-25 Aug 1pm-4pm.

Show more

About this activity

  • Phone number
    +46 (0)491-76 48 87, (0)491-835 48
  • Price information
    Free entrance.

Distance

  • City centre
    City centre 9 km

Nearby accommodation

Cabins

First Camp Gunnarsö/Cottages

Distance: 7.7 km
First Camp Gunnarsö enjoys a scenic location by the Kalmar Strait, 3 km southeast of the centre of Oskarshamn, near the Gotland ferry terminal.
Caravan and camping

First Camp Gunnarsö/Camping

Distance: 7.7 km
First Camp Gunnarsö enjoys a scenic location by the Kalmar Strait, 3 km southeast of the centre of Oskarshamn, near the Gotland ferry terminal.
Hotels and guesthouses

Adels Hotell & Rekreation

Distance: 8.4 km
Adels Hotel & Rekreation - a charming family hotel, situated near the harbour and the ferryterminal to Gotland.